Thomas Jefferson Papers

III. Table of Federal Officeholders in the States, 10 May 1803

III. Table of Federal Officeholders in the States

[ca. 11 July 1803]

r o f 
N.H. 6 3
Mas. 13 1 24
R.I. 6 6
Conn. 7 5
Verm. 3 1
N.Y. 10 5
N.J. 6 3
Pens. 3 1 5
Del. 2 2
Maryld. 4 13
Virga 10 1 16
N.C. 9 1 12
S.C. 1 9
Georg. 5 5
Ten. 4
Kenty. 2 1
Ohio   2
93 5 109 = 207
Genl.1  65 21  23 = 109
158 26 132 316

MS (DLC: TJ Papers, 234:41919); undated; entirely in TJ’s hand; on same sheet as Documents IV and V.

This table is TJ’s final tally of Republican and Federalist officeholders. He compiled the individual state totals using data from Document II before he emended that table. Thus, several state tallies, above, include officers of revenue cutters, a category TJ ultimately deleted. They do not reflect Gallatin’s comments (see Document VI), which TJ incorporated through emendations to Document II. But Document III, above, is the one to which TJ added his totals for officers in the general government from Document IV to obtain his grand totals.

n.h.: all six federal officers in New Hampshire were Republican. They included the collector, naval officer, and surveyor at Portsmouth, and the U.S. marshal, U.S. attorney, and commissioner of loans. All appeared on the List of Appointments and Removals TJ prepared after 10 May 1803. Joseph Whipple, collector, and William Gardner, commissioner of loans, were two of the four TJ had restored to office (Vol. 33:670-2). The three officers TJ entered in the Federalist column were evidently those he associated with the revenue cutters (see Documents II and VI). For variances in TJ’s totals for Massachusetts, which included the district of Maine, see same.

r.i.: Rhode Island had a total of 14 external revenue officers, including nine surveyors, six of whom were Federalists. For the six Republicans in TJ’s tally, see Documents II and VI. Gallatin surmised that TJ overlooked five Federalist surveyors in his count.

In Document II, TJ calculated that there were seven Republican officers in Connecticut (conn.), including the master and mate of the revenue cutter. Without them there were only five—Alexander Wolcott and Samuel Bishop, collectors, William Munson, surveyor, Pierpont Edwards, U.S. attorney, and Joseph Willcox, marshal (Vol. 33:331n, 669, 671, 672, 674n, 675, 678; Document V, below). In his comments, Gallatin indicated that there were five Federalist surveyors in the state. TJ evidently included only two in his tally, above, because two collectors and the loan commissioner were also Federalists (see Documents II and VI).

verm: Documents II and VI indicate that Vermont had a total of three officeholders, all Republican. Here TJ included Nathaniel Brush as the Federalist commissioner of loans, perhaps following the 1802 roll of Federal officeholders, where he was identified as such. He was actually Vermont’s supervisor of internal revenues, a position TJ did not include in his calculations (ASP description begins American State Papers: Documents, Legislative and Executive, of the Congress of the United States, Washington, D.C., 1832-61, 38 vols. description ends , Miscellaneous, 1:281, 305).

TJ included the masters and mates of revenue cutters in his Federalist count for New York (n.y.) and Pennsylvania (pens.); see Document II. For Gallatin’s argument that there was only one Federalist officeholder in New York, see Document VI. Gallatin and TJ agreed that Stephen Moylan, Pennsylvania’s commissioner of loans, was associated with neither party (ASP description begins American State Papers: Documents, Legislative and Executive, of the Congress of the United States, Washington, D.C., 1832-61, 38 vols. description ends , Miscellaneous, 1:305).

maryld: TJ made very few changes in Maryland’s external revenue offices. He appointed two collectors—Alexander Scott at Nanjemoy and John Oakley at Georgetown—and named Charles Gibson surveyor at the newly erected district of Easton. Reuben Etting, marshal of the Maryland district, was definitely one of the four Republicans in TJ’s count (Vol. 33:231n, 668, 670, 673, 675, 677; Vol. 36:335; Vol. 37:579n; Vol. 39:131, 314, 315n; Appendix I). For the Virginia (virga) totals, see notes to Document VI.

n.c.: by the end of the process, TJ and Gallatin agreed that North Carolina had 10 Republican and 16 Federalist officers. U.S. Marshal John S. West, reappointed by TJ in 1802, was the neutral officer (Vol. 38:635-6; Vol. 39:127n; Documents II and VI). After consultation, TJ and Gallatin also agreed that there were two Republican officers in South Carolina (s.c.). Gallatin’s comments (Document VI) indicate that Edward Weyman, surveyor at Charleston since 1793, was a Republican. In Document II, TJ identified the marshal, that is, Robert E. Cochran, as the other Republican (Vol. 33:514n; Vol. 38:515n).

TJ and Gallatin assigned Joseph Hamilton Daveiss, appointed U.S. attorney for the Kentucky (kenty) district by Adams in December 1800 and usually identified as a Federalist, to the neutral or nonpartisan column. TJ removed him from office in 1807 (DAB description begins Allen Johnson and Dumas Malone, eds., Dictionary of American Biography, New York, 1928-36, 20 vols. description ends ; Madison, Papers, Pres. Ser., 2:205; Vol. 32:562-3n; Vol. 38:666; TJ to Madison, 14 Mch. 1807).

genl.: for TJ’s totals of officers in the general government, see the next document.

1For the tallies here TJ first wrote “58,” “20,” and “16” for a total of “94,” the results TJ entered from Document IV (see note 4) before he added several categories. TJ then overwrote the numbers to read as above, which reflects his final totals in Document IV. TJ also altered the grand totals from “151” to “158,” “25” to “26,” “125” to “132,” and “301” to “316.”

Index Entries