Thomas Jefferson Papers

Lancelot Minor to Thomas Jefferson, 25 July 1817

From Lancelot Minor

Louisa. July 25 1817

Dear Sir

I have been prevented for sometime acknowledging your letter of the 7th of last month enclosing your Draft upon Messs Gibson & Jefferson by my own Indisposition and the Illness of my Eldest son who I am glad to say is now better. I have paid the amount of the draft to the Agent of Mrs Callis (Doct Kean) which I beleive closes Mr. Marks affairs in my hands—except the claim upon John G Winston which I am doubtfull will never be come at but I will still endeavour to have it collected—the land belonging to Mrs Marks in my Nieghbourhood is poor and unsaleable If you still wish it sold I will with pleasure give my aid in the sale—you will be please to direct whether I shall forward the papers belonging Mrs Marks in my hands to you or not

Accept Dear Sir my best wishes for your Happiness.

L Minor

RC (MHi); endorsed by TJ without date of receipt, but recorded in SJL as received 2 Aug. 1817.

TJ’s letter of the 7th of last month was actually dated 3 June 1817.

Index Entries

  • Callis, Ann Price; and H. Marks’s estate search
  • Gibson & Jefferson (Richmond firm); payments made for TJ search
  • Jefferson, Thomas; Business & Financial Affairs; and H. Marks’s estate search
  • Kean, Andrew; and H. Marks’s estate search
  • Marks, Anne Scott Jefferson (TJ’s sister; Hastings Marks’s wife); and H. Marks’s estate search
  • Marks, Hastings (TJ’s brother-in-law; Anne Scott Jefferson Marks’s husband); estate of search
  • Minor, Lancelot; and H. Marks’s estate search
  • Minor, Lancelot; letters from search
  • Minor, William Tompkins; health of search
  • Winston, John G.; and H. Marks’s estate search