George Washington Papers

To George Washington from Fielding Lewis, 8–9 May 1773

From Fielding Lewis

Saturday May 8th or 9th 1773

Dear Sir

Buckner was here last Tuesday and promis’d to do the needfull if possible, left the Town on Wednesday and I am this Evening inform’d by Mr Whiting that he would not return, and as I hear’d a Gentleman this day say he was to receive Three hundred pounds from Buckner I conclude you will get no Money, have therefore agreed for your Bills to Mr Charlton at the Currt Exchg. wch is not setled as the drawers expect 30 Ct & the buyers offer 25 Ct am now going to get the £300 to send you to the care of your Brother Charles as wrote you by Mr Henderson have paid all demands agst you and have recd & paid as Margin, Mr Mongomery will not pay the Balle of Whitings Bond Colo. Banister says he will pay before he leaves Town Warner Lewis have not seen shall go that way John Fry not in Town, Armistead not in Town, Trustees of Bernard More will pay as soon as possible but no money at this time, in short disappointments so general that I never before have seen so little business done nor one Tenth so many disappointmts.1 I was fearfull from the beginning that Buckner would disappoint as I know Gloster County to be the worst in Virginia to have any Money matters to collect from, I wish You a good Journey, as you pass Prince Town call and see my Son⟨s⟩ who will I am sure have great pleasure in seeing You2 I am Dr Sir Yr most Affectionate Hume Servt

Fielding Lewis

P.S. Since writing the above Mr Hill informs me that he w⟨ill⟩ be able to pay a farther Sum of money, so that I have retu⟨rn’d⟩ one of your Bills £


1For these transactions carried out by Lewis on behalf of GW, see GW to Lewis, 20 April, Cash Accounts, May 1773, and notes of both documents.

3See GW to Lewis, 20 April, n.19. Lewis wrote the following account below the postscript:

Colo. Washington Dr.
To Cash pd Mr [Thomas] Hodge Sterlg £ 35.     
To pd Capt. [James] Page’s Order £14.14 19. 2. 2 1/2
To pd [William] Crawfords Order in favr [John] Hite 50.     
I am to pay Mr [Townshend] Dade at our fair this Month R[obert] Washington’s Order wh. he could not stay to receive desir’d me to bring up the Money 60.     
 164. 2. 2 1/2
Cash sent you by ⟨Me⟩ care of yr Brother Charles 300.     
By Cash of Mr [John] Norton £ 12. 1. 9
Do Treasurer 12. 2. 6
Do of [James] Hill 84.10. 8
By 3 Bills ⟨Excg⟩ to Edwd Charlton
amounting to £240 Sterlg
one return’d 80
By Cash of Mr [James] Hill 62.14. 5

Index Entries