James Madison Papers

Edward Coles to James Madison, 13 April 1828

Philadelphia Ap: 13. ’28

Dr. Sir:

Payne having failed to come into the City, I went out last evening to see him at the Water works. I found him walking about and to all appearance well. There is no longer any appearance of swelling or bruise, and nothing remains of the hurt but a little soreness, which he said did not prevent him from enjoying a walk, every day for some distance around and about Fair Mount. He told me he was the less anxious to return to the City in consequence of his being comfortably situated in a pretty good tavern, and enjoyed the society of many of his acquaintances, some of whom were in the habit of riding or walking out every day. Indeed at this season of the year it is quite a favourite & fashionable ride and walk out to Fair Mount & Pratts garden—In addition to which the coal trade & the improvement of the navigation of the Schuylkil, have caused great many houses to be built & other improvements to be made in that vicinity. He told me however that he intended to come into the City soon. As I consider him well, and that you and Mrs Madison will feel no longer any anxiety about the hurt he recd:, I shall not again write you in relation to it, unless he should injure himself again.

Since I last wrote you, which was two or 3 days since, I have recd: a letter from my Brother Tucker informing me that him & his wife would be here about the 20 inst:. If they should come on & spend some weeks here I shall be detained by them longer than it was my intention to have remained

Many & very kind enquiries are made of me about you and Mrs M.; and I am charged, when I see you, to express to you both many kind recollections and good wishes from your friends here. And Mrs Gen: Scott, who is boarding in the same house with me, desired me, if I should have occasion to write to you; to be sure to convey to you & Mrs M. her kind and affectionate regards.

With the hope of finding you & Mrs M. enjoying your usual good health I look forward with impatience to the time when I shall have the pleasure of seeing and enjoying your society at Montpellier—In the mean time I beg leave to renew to you both the assurances of my sincere and devoted attachment

Edward Coles

RC (ICHi). Docketed by James Madison.

Index Entries