James Madison Papers

To James Madison from George Graham, 26 September 1815

From George Graham

Department of War, Sept. 26th. 1815.

Dear Sir,

My brother arrived here last evening, and I have the honor now to forward a treaty signed at Spring Wells, on the eighth of this month, by the Commissioners, and the Chiefs of all the tribes of Indians with which they were authorised to treat, and which you will find entirely satisfactory.1 I have the honor to be, with great respect, Your most obed. servt.

Geo: Graham

RC (DLC); letterbook copy (DNA: RG 107, LSP). RC in a clerk’s hand, signed by Graham. For enclosure, see n. 1.

1In reply to suggestions made by Alexander J. Dallas on 2 Aug. 1815 regarding instructions to the treaty commissioners, JM had commented: “In addition to the fulfilment of justice & good faith to the Indns a liberality wch will conciliate, without a risk of misinterpretation will be proper” (Carter, description begins Clarence Carter et al., eds., The Territorial Papers of the United States (28 vols.; Washington, D.C., 1934–75). description ends Territorial Papers, Michigan, 10:573). The enclosed treaty (5 pp.; DNA: RG 11, Ratified Indian Treaties; printed in Bureau of Indian Affairs, Treaties between the United States of America and the Several Indian Tribes, 173–77), signed by William Henry Harrison, Duncan McArthur, John Graham, and representatives of the Wyandot, Shawnee, Ottawa, Winnebago, Chippewa, Delaware, Seneca, Potawatomi, and Miami tribes, declared peace between the United States and the Chippewas, Ottawas, and Potawatomis, who had taken the British side during the War of 1812. Those tribes agreed “to place themselves under the protection of the United States, and of no other power whatsoever,” and were to receive “all the possessions, rights and privileges which they enjoyed, or were entitled to” in 1811. The chiefs of the Wyandot, Delaware, Seneca, and Shawnee tribes, which had remained largely loyal to the United States during the war, and of the Miami tribe, which had declared peace with the United States in the 1814 Treaty of Greenville, were allowed to restore the authority and property of any of their members who had committed hostilities against the United States. Finally, all the parties agreed to renew the 1795 Treaty of Greenville and any subsequent treaties in which they were involved.

Index Entries