Thomas Jefferson Papers

Thomas Jefferson to Edmund Bacon, 28 July 1819

To Edmund Bacon

P. Forest July 28. 19.

Dear Sir

I am now anxious for the carpenters to come on as soon as they shall have done the jobs mentioned in my letter to mr Meeks. we have a horse which has been raised here 3. years old this month, of tolerable figure, great size & promising qualities for a riding horse. I am putting him into the hands of a neighbor to learn him to pace & shall take him down with me when I return. I would therefore not have you to send Wellington here at all, as I had desired. I shall be at Monticello by the 15th of Sep. and imagine you will not have set off before that on your visit to Missouri. in the mean while I shall be glad to learn from you from time to time the progress in collecting & paying my debts & the progress and state of things under your charge. the mail for Lynchburg leaves Charlottesville early Sunday mornings & gets to Lynchburg Monday evening. it leaves Lynchburg again Thursday evenings and gets to Charlsve Saturday evenings, so that you can have answers from here in a week.1 I salute you with great friendship

Th: Jefferson

PoC (CSmH: JF); on verso of a reused address cover from James Steptoe to TJ; at foot of text: “Mr Bacon”; endorsed by TJ.

1Omitted period at right margin editorially supplied.

Index Entries

  • Bacon, Edmund; and horses search
  • Bacon, Edmund; letters to search
  • Bacon, Edmund; Monticello overseer search
  • Bacon, Edmund; plans to move west search
  • Charlottesville, Va.; mail service to search
  • horses; at Poplar Forest search
  • Lynchburg, Va.; mail service to search
  • Meeks, Edmund; as carpenter search
  • Poplar Forest (TJ’s Bedford Co. estate); builders at search
  • Poplar Forest (TJ’s Bedford Co. estate); horses at search
  • Poplar Forest (TJ’s Bedford Co. estate); TJ visits search
  • Post Office, U.S.; and mail service search
  • Wellington (horse) search