Thomas Jefferson Papers

David Watson to Thomas Jefferson, 26 February 1819

From David Watson

Louisa. 26th Feb: 1819

Dear Sir,

I regret very much that the badly of the weather, & the state of my health, are such, as absolutely to forbid my attempting to meet you & Gen: Cocke, at Mr Madisons, to day according to appointment. I will set off to Albemarle on sunday next, if the weather will permit, or the first fit day after, & will see you as soon as possible. In the mean time, I beg that you will do as if I were personally present, & assenting to whatever you & the visitors you may advise with, think necessary & proper; & use no ceremony, but affix my name to any paper or papers that may require it

I am extremly concerned to have been rather a hindrance than a help, in a business about the success of which few can be more anxious, or more interested than I am.

With greatest & sincerest respect. Yr Obt

David Watson

RC (DLC); endorsed by TJ as received 1 Mar. 1819 and so recorded in SJL. RC (MHi); portion of address cover only; with MS of TJ’s Notes on Thermometer Calibration, [ca. 21–22 Jan. 1820], on verso; addressed: “Thos Jefferso[n]” to be sent “By post from Lindsays”; postmarked Lindsays Store, 26 Feb.

Index Entries

  • Central College Board of Visitors; meetings of search
  • Cocke, John Hartwell (1780–1866); as member of Central College Board of Visitors search
  • Jefferson, Thomas; Travels; to Montpellier (Madison family estate) search
  • Monticello (TJ’s Albemarle Co. estate); Visitors to; Watson, David search
  • Montpellier (Montpelier; J. Madison’s Orange Co. estate); TJ visits search
  • Montpellier (Montpelier; J. Madison’s Orange Co. estate); visitors to search
  • Virginia; weather in search
  • Watson, David (1773–1830); as member of Central College Board of Visitors search
  • Watson, David (1773–1830); health of search
  • Watson, David (1773–1830); letters from search
  • Watson, David (1773–1830); visits Monticello search
  • weather; in Va. search