George Washington Papers

To George Washington from Francis Willis, Jr., 15 May 1774

From Francis Willis, Jr.

Berkeley County May 15th 1774


I receiv’d yours of the 4th Instant and am much obligd to you for inquireing into the State of things at Belvoir, as one word from you will be more observed by Daniel Stone than half a doz. letters from me, I have weekly proposed down their for Some time, and nothing but the consideration of promoteing Colonel Fairfax’s intrest has prevented me. things being much out of Order I was under a necessity of imploying the inferior sort of Overseers, the Colonel’s Negroes are very bad and I have been under an absolute necessity of Staying at home untill now.1

I would set out for Belvoir in about six Days but would wish to stay untill your return from WmsBurgh.2

I have likewis receivd yours of the 8th instant respecting the Tobacco which I can not promis to have inspected before the 10th of September we have neglected it this spring untill we could plant corn which is now done and we shall loose no time now untill the Tobacco is finished. I do not think their will be more than 16 hogsheads I will comply with your request concerning the Tobo receivd for rents.3 I am Sir Your most obedient Servant

Frans Willis Junr

ALS, NjMoHP. The letter was addressed to GW in Williamsburg.

1Letter not found. Daniel Stone was the caretaker at Belvoir.

2GW left for Williamsburg on 12 May and did not return to Mount Vernon until 22 June (Diaries description begins Donald Jackson and Dorothy Twohig, eds. The Diaries of George Washington. 6 vols. Charlottesville, Va., 1976–79. description ends , 3:249, 256). He again went to Williamsburg on 28 July, for the meeting of the first provincial congress, but he was back on 10 Aug. in time for the sale of George William Fairfax’s furniture at Belvoir on 15 Aug., as advertised by Willis in the Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg) on 2 June. Willis dined at Mount Vernon on 12 Aug., a few days after GW returned from Williamsburg (ibid., 269).

3Letter not found. See GW to Samuel Athawes, 1 June.

Index Entries