James Madison Papers

To James Madison from Thomas Jefferson, 14 March 1807

Mar. 14. 1807

On further enquiry and examination, I find it necessary to correct the list of justices before given in for Alexandria county. Commissions are therefore desired for Washington & Alexandria counties according to the subjoined lists, giving to all those who were in the former commissions the order in which they were therein placed, and adding the new names to the end.

 Justices for Washington county. Justices for Alexandria county.
Robert Brent George Gilpin
Thomas Peter Charles Alexander junr.
William Thornton Jonah Thompson.
Joseph Sprigg Belt Abraham Faw
Thomas Corcoran Cuthbert Powell
Samuel N. Smallwood. Alexander Smith.
Robert Alexander Jacob Hoffman.
Richard Parrott George Slocum
Thomas Fenwick Elisha Cullen Dick
John B. Kirby John McKinney
John Ott Robert Young
Samuel Harrison Smith Joseph Dean.
Daniel Ramine Richard Dinmore
Nicholas Young Amos Alexander
John Threilkeld Clement Sewell
Richard Libby
John Richards.
Henry O’Reily.

[brace] Included in list on next page [brace]

DLC: Papers of Thomas Jefferson.

Index Entries