Thomas Jefferson Papers
Documents filtered by: Author="Jefferson, Thomas" AND Recipient="Monroe, James" AND Period="Jefferson Presidency" AND Project="Jefferson Papers" AND Starting date=4 March 1801 AND Ending date=3 March 1805
sorted by: date (ascending)

From Thomas Jefferson to James Monroe, 17 October 1802

To James Monroe

Commissioners of Bankruptcy.

Richmond: George Hay. declined. George Tucker appointed in his place
Wm. Duval.
George W. Smith.
Benjamin Hatcher. declined.
Norfolk Lytleton W. Tazewell. declined
Richard Evers Lee.
Moses Myers. declined
Thomas Blanchard.

Th: Jefferson to Govr. Monroe.

You will see by the above Statement that we are still in want of one Commr. of bankruptcy at Richmd. or Manchester, and of two at Norfolk. whom shall we appoint?

PrC (DLC); endorsed by TJ in ink on verso.

For Monroe’s previous recommendations of BANKRUPTCY commissioners for Richmond and Norfolk, see Vol. 37:510–11, 690–1.

Index Entries