George Washington Papers
Documents filtered by: Recipient="Washington, George" AND Date="1799-04-24"
sorted by: date (descending)

Enclosure: Election Returns, 24 April 1799


Election Returns

[24 April 1799]

Faquire County for government
for Senat of State Colo. Peyton1 447
for Congress Genl Blackwell2 422
for State assembly3 Wm Clarkson 386
dto Elias Edmonds 376
Against Government
offerd for Congress Nicholas4 196
dto Senat of State Elzey5 159
dto State Legislatr Gust. Genings6 241
⟨dto dto⟩ " Docr Horner7 237
Loudoun County Federal Party
for Congress Colo. Powell8 548
for Senat of the Stat Colo. Peyton 620
for the Assembly Joseph Lewis9 504
of the Stat William Noland10 500
against the government
for senat of State Wm Elzey 1
for Congress Roger West 81
for the Assembly Charles Bins Jones12 153
of this state Abner Osburn13 92

AD, DLC:GW. Harrison wrote this on the back of his letter to GW of 24 April, the day that the elections were held. For references to GW’s other correspondence respecting the Virginia elections of 24 April 1799, see John Marshall to GW, 1 May, n.3.

1Except for brief intervals during the Revolution, from 1769 until 1787 Col. Francis Peyton (c.1748–1808) represented Loudoun County first in the colonial house of burgesses and subsequently in the state house of delegates; from 1792 to 1811 he served as senator for Loudoun and Fauquier counties (The General Assembly of Virginia, July 30, 1619–January 11, 1928: a Bicentennial Register of Members [Richmond, 1978] 98 et seq.). Francis Peyton, Jr. (d. 1836), the mayor of Alexandria, was an unsuccessful candidate for one of the seats in the house of delegates from Fairfax County.

2John Blackwell (1755–1808) of Fauquier County, general of the state militia, was in the house of delegates in 1789.

3William Clarkson (1773–1818) served the term for which he was elected at this time, 1799–1800, and was elected again in Fauquier in 1809. Elias Edmonds (1756–1800) was first elected to the house of delegates from Fauquier in 1786 and was twice reelected; after a brief hiatus he was again elected in 1791 (ibid., 160, 164, 168, 183, 215, 256).

4John Nicholas (c.1764–1819), son of Robert Carter Nicholas, was first elected to Congress in 1793 and was reelected three times as a Republican.

5William Ellzey, Jr., represented Loudoun County in the house of delegates from 1795 to 1799. He was again elected in 1828 (ibid., 200, 204, 208, 344).

6Augustine Jennings represented Fauquier in the house of delegates from 1794 until 1805 except for the one term, 1799–1800. He served one other term, in 1810–11 (ibid., 195, 199, 203, 207, 211, 219, 223, 227, 235, 260).

7Dr. Gustavus B. Horner was a delegate for Fauquier in 1794 and 1795, 1798–99, and 1800–1801 (ibid., 195, 199, 211, 219).

8Leven Powell (1737–1810), for many years a leading citizen of Loudoun County, and with whom GW had frequent dealings, was elected to Congress in 1799, replacing Richard Brent (1757–1814) who had served for two terms and was elected again in 1800.

9Joseph Lewis, Jr., represented Loudoun County in the Virginia legislature from 1799 to 1803. He was elected again in 1817 (ibid., 216, 220, 224, 228, 290).

10William Noland represented his county in the legislature with occasional interruptions until 1815 (ibid., 216 et seq.).

11Harrison either recorded the number of votes received by one or more of the candidates incorrectly, or failed to add the correct figures properly.

12Charles Binns Jones went to the house of delegates for Brunswick County in 1791–92.

13Abner Osborne, son of Nicholas Osborne (died c.1787), was a leading member of the Society of Friends in Loudoun County.

Index Entries