Search help
Documents filtered by: Author="Adams, John Quincy"
Results 251-300 of 3,654 sorted by editorial placement
No. Author Recipient Title Date Context
251 Adams, John Quincy 3d. Sunday. 1782-03-03 Several persons dined and supped here this day. Mr. D. receiv’d some letters from America. Stay’d...
252 Adams, John Quincy 4th. Monday. 1782-03-04 A French Gentleman dined with us this day. I wrote a letter to my Father. Stay’d at home all day....
253 Adams, John Quincy 5th. Tuesday. 1782-03-05 Went to Mr. Wolff’s and to Mr. Rimbert’s in the afternoon to carry letters to be sent to Holland....
254 Adams, John Quincy 6th. Wednesday. 1782-03-06 Went in the forenoon with Mr. Artaud to take a walk. Mr. D stay’d at home all day. Cloudy weather...
255 Adams, John Quincy 7th. Thursday. 1782-03-07 This morning Mr. D. went with Mr. Artaud to get some maps at the Academy. I went to a...
256 Adams, John Quincy 8th. Friday. 1782-03-08 In the forenoon I went to the English Library for some books but the keeper was not at Home....
257 Adams, John Quincy 9th. Saturday. 1782-03-09 Finished the second oration of Cicero against Catilina. In the morning about ten o’clock Mr. D....
258 Adams, John Quincy 10th. Sunday. 1782-03-10 This morning we went to see the palace at Oranienbaum, and then dined and after dinner set off in...
259 Adams, John Quincy 11th. Monday. 1782-03-11 This day Mr. Blondot and Mr. Cussy dined here, after dinner I went with Mr. Artaud to the...
260 Adams, John Quincy 12th. Tuesday. 1782-03-12 In the afternoon I went to take a ride with Mr. D. Begun the third Oration of Cicero against...
261 Adams, John Quincy 13th. Wednesday. 1782-03-13 In the forenoon I went to the English Library and took out the 4th and 5th volumes of Mrs....
262 Adams, John Quincy 14th. Thursday. 1782-03-14 This morning when we got up we found our Thermometer stolen. In the forenoon Mr. D. and Mr....
263 Adams, John Quincy 15th. Friday. 1782-03-15 This morning I went with Mr. D. and Mr. Artaud to take a walk. After dinner I went in a Slay with...
264 Adams, John Quincy 16th. Saturday. 1782-03-16 This morning I went to the Academy and bought some almanacks. After dinner I went with Mr. Artaud...
265 Adams, John Quincy 17th. Sunday. 1782-03-17 This morning Mr. Peyron and two of Mr. Rimbert’s Nephews came to pay us a visit. Mr. D. went to...
266 Adams, John Quincy 18th. Monday. 1782-03-18 This forenoon I went with Mr. Artaud to the Academy and bought a Russian and French Grammar....
267 Adams, John Quincy 19th. Tuesday. 1782-03-19 This forenoon Mr. D went to take a walk. After dinner he went with Mr. Artaud to the shops. Mr....
268 Adams, John Quincy 20th. Wednesday. 1782-03-20 This morning Mr. D and Mr. Artaud went to take a ride, in the afternoon I went with Mr. Artaud to...
269 Adams, John Quincy 21st. Thursday. 1782-03-21 This morning our German master came to give us a lesson for the first time; Mr. Rimbert came to...
270 Adams, John Quincy 22d. Friday. 1782-03-22 This morning I went to the English Library, and brought home The second volume of Smith’s wealth...
271 Adams, John Quincy 23d. Saturday. 1782-03-23 This day Mr. Blondot dined with us. In the afternoon Mr. Hoogwerst came to pay us a visit. Stay’d...
272 Adams, John Quincy 24th. Sunday. 1782-03-24 Mr. Artaud dined and supped out. Stay’d at home all day. Snowy and rainy weather. Mr. D. receiv’d...
273 Adams, John Quincy 25th. Monday. 1782-03-25 Finished the 4th. volume of Mrs. Macaulay’s history of England. 409 p. Mr. Colombi came to pay us...
274 Adams, John Quincy 26th. Tuesday. 1782-03-26 Begun the fifth volume of Mrs. Macaulay’s history. Finished the third oration of Cicero against...
275 Adams, John Quincy 27th. Wednesday. 1782-03-27 This morning I went with Mr. D. to the house of the Spanish chargé d’affaires . Mr. D went to...
276 Adams, John Quincy 28th. Thursday. 1782-03-28 This forenoon Mr. Gonset came to pay us a visit. Mr. D. went in the afternoon to Mr. Wolff’s. Mr....
277 Adams, John Quincy 29th. Friday. 1782-03-29 This morning I went with Mr. Artaud to the shops and bought some things. We went to the Academy...
278 Adams, John Quincy 30th. Saturday. 1782-03-30 Mr. Rimbert, Mr. Peyron and his Lady, Mr. Abraham, Mr. Rosat, and the youngest Mr. Montréal dined...
279 Adams, John Quincy 31st. Sunday. 1782-03-31 Wrote a letter to my Father. Mr. Artaud dined and Supped out. Fine weather. Thermometer at 9...
280 Adams, John Quincy [April 1782] 1782-04-01 Stay’d at home all day. Begun to read Robertson’s history of Charles the 5th. Mr. Artaud supped...
281 Adams, John Quincy N.(1782)S. April. 1St. Monday. 1782-04-01 Stay’d at home all day. Begun to read Robertson’s history of Charles the 5th. Mr. Artaud supped...
282 Adams, John Quincy 2d. Tuesday. 1782-04-02 This day Mr. D. went to carry our letters to be sent to the post office. Stay’d at home all day....
283 Adams, John Quincy 3d. Wednesday. 1782-04-03 This forenoon I took a walk to the academy with Mr. Artaud and bought some maps. Mr. Artaud dined...
284 Adams, John Quincy 4th. Thursday. 1782-04-04 This forenoon Mr. Gonset came to pay us a visit. Mr. D and Mr. Artaud went to the shops, and...
285 Adams, John Quincy 5th. Friday. 1782-04-05 This forenoon Mr. D. went to take a ride. I went with Mr. Artaud and took a long walk upon the...
286 Adams, John Quincy 6th. Saturday. 1782-04-06 This forenoon Mr. D. went to take a ride, in the afternoon, I went and took a walk upon the quay....
287 Adams, John Quincy 7th. Sunday. 1782-04-07 Esther day a great holiday for the Russians. They present eggs, this day. Mr. Artaud dined out,...
288 Adams, John Quincy 8th. Monday. 1782-04-08 Finished the fourth and last Catilinary of Cicero. In the forenoon I went to the English Library...
289 Adams, John Quincy 9th. Tuesday. 1782-04-09 This forenoon I went with Mr. D. to the French minister’s hotel. Mr. Normandes the Spanish Chargé...
290 Adams, John Quincy 10th. Wednesday. 1782-04-10 This forenoon I went with Mr. Artaud to the shops and bought some things. Before dinner we went...
291 Adams, John Quincy 11th. Thursday. 1782-04-11 This forenoon I went with Mr. Artaud to the Shops. Dined at Mr. Rimberts. Mr. Colombi dined there...
292 Adams, John Quincy 12th. Friday. 1782-04-12 Stay’d at home all day. Mr. D. went in the forenoon to take a ride. Cloudy weather. Begun...
293 Adams, John Quincy 13th. Saturday. 1782-04-13 Mr. Artaud dined out. Mr. D. went to take a ride in the afternoon. Finished the 2d. Volume of...
294 Adams, John Quincy 14th. Sunday. 1782-04-14 This day the Marquis de Verac the french minister here gave a mascarade ball and supper for the...
295 Adams, John Quincy 15th. Monday. 1782-04-15 This afternoon Mr. D. went to take a ride. Mr. Artaud supp’d out. Stay’d at home all day. Cloudy,...
296 Adams, John Quincy 16th. Tuesday. 1782-04-16 This forenoon I went with Mr. Artaud to the shops and bought some things. Mr. D. went to take a...
297 Adams, John Quincy 17th. Wednesday. 1782-04-17 This morning before breakfast I went and took a walk upon the quay of the river. The Swedish...
298 Adams, John Quincy 18th. Thursday. 1782-04-18 This day at about 7. o clock P.M. the river broke up, and The major of the fortress passed it in...
299 Adams, John Quincy 19th. Friday. 1782-04-19 In the forenoon Mr. D went to take a ride, and after dinner he took a walk. Stay’d at home all...
300 Adams, John Quincy 20th. Saturday. 1782-04-20 This forenoon I went with Mr. D. to the Hotel of the Dutch Resident Mr. de Swart. In the...