Begin a
search

Author

Sort: Frequency / Alphabetical

Show: Top 10 / Top 50

Recipient

Sort: Frequency / Alphabetical

Show: Top 10 / Top 50

Period

Dates From

Dates To

Results 101-150 of 184,887 sorted by editorial placement
No. Author Recipient Title Date Context
101 Adams, John 16 [i.e. 17] Saturday. 1756-04-17 A Stormy Day.
102 Adams, John 17 [i.e. 18] Sunday. 1756-04-18 A Stormy Day. For these 3 days past there has been a severe N.E. Storm. Heard Mr. Maccarty. Spent...
103 Adams, John 18 [i.e. 19] Monday. 1756-04-19 The Storm continues.
104 Adams, John 19 [i.e. 20] Tuesday. 1756-04-20 A lovely Day after the Storm. Drank Tea at Major Chandlers. Walked with the Coll. to his Saw-mill...
105 Adams, John 20 [i.e. 21] Wednesday. 1756-04-21 Charming Weather. The Fields begin to look verdant. The leaves begin to shew themselves on the...
106 Adams, John 21 [i.e. 22] Thurdsday. 1756-04-22 Cloudy, black morning. Cleared away very pleasant about 9. Dined at Capt. Stearns’s, with the...
107 Adams, John 22 [i.e. 23] Fryday. 1756-04-23 A pleasant Day. I can as easily still the fierce Tempests or Stop the rapid Thunderbolt, as...
108 Adams, John 23 [i.e. 24] Saturday. 1756-04-24 A cloudy morn. All my Time seems to roll away unnoticed. I long to study sometimes, but have no...
109 Adams, John 24 [i.e. 25] Sunday. 1756-04-25 Astronomers tell us, with good Reason, that not only all the Planets and Satellites in our Solar...
110 Adams, John 25 [i.e. 26] Monday. 1756-04-26 The Reflection that I penned Yesterday, appears upon the review to be weak enough. For 1st. we...
111 Adams, John 26 [i.e. 27] Tuesday. 1756-04-27 We had a few soft, vernal Showers to Day.
112 Adams, John 27 [i.e. 28] Wednesday. 1756-04-28 A cool but pleasant morning. Dined at Mr. Paines. Drank Tea at Mr. Putnams. Walked with him to...
113 Adams, John 28 [i.e. 29] Thurdsday. 1756-04-29 Fast day. Heard Mr. Maccarty. Spent the Evening at Mr. Putnams. Our proper Business in this Life...
114 Adams, John 29 [i.e. 30] Fryday. 1756-04-30 A hazy, dull Day. Reading Milton. That mans Soul, it seems to me, was distended as wide as...
115 Adams, John [May 1756] 1756-05-01 A rainy Day. If we consider a little of this our Globe we find an endless Variety of Substances,...
116 Adams, John 30 [April, i.e. 1 May] Saturday. 1756-05-01 A rainy Day. If we consider a little of this our Globe we find an endless Variety of Substances,...
117 Adams, John May. 1756. 1 [i.e. 2] Sunday. 1756-05-02 Last night we had rain all night accompanied with a very high Wind, and the storm continues....
118 Adams, John 3 Monday. 1756-05-03 I was mistaken one Day in my reckoning. A pleasant Day. Spent the Evening and supped at Mr....
119 Adams, John 4 Tuesday. 1756-05-04 Let any man, suppose of the most improved understanding, look upon a watch, when the Parts of it...
120 Adams, John 5 Wednesday. 1756-05-05 A very cold Day. Drank Tea at the Colonels. Spent the Evening at the Majors.
121 Adams, John 6 Thurdsday. 1756-05-06 A cold day. Spent the Evening and supped at Mr. Putnams.
122 Adams, John 7 Fryday. 1756-05-07 Spent the Evening and supped at Mr. Maccartys. A mans observing the Flux of the Tide to Day,...
123 Adams, John 8 Saturday. 1756-05-08 Went a Shooting with Mr. Putnam. Drank Tea with him and his Lady.
124 Adams, John 9 Sunday. 1756-05-09 Since last Sunday I have wrote a few Papers of the Spectators, read the last Part of Butlers...
125 Adams, John 10 Monday. 1756-05-10 A pleasant Day.
126 Adams, John 11 Tuesday. 1756-05-11 A pleasant day . The first Day of Court. Nature and Truth or rather Truth and right are...
127 Adams, John 12 Wednesday. 1756-05-12 Rambled about all Day, gaping and gazing.
128 Adams, John 12 [i.e. 13] Thurdsday. 1756-05-13 Spent the Evening with Mr. Swan at home.
129 Adams, John 13 [i.e. 14]. Friday. 1756-05-14 Drank Tea at the Colonels.—Not one new Idea this Week.
130 Adams, John 14 [i.e. 15]. Saturday. 1756-05-15 A lovely Day. Soft vernal Showers. Exercise invigorates, and enlivens all the Faculties of Body...
131 Adams, John 15 [i.e. 16]. Sunday. 1756-05-16 A pleasant morning. The Week past was Court week. I was interrupted by Company, and the noisy...
132 Adams, John 16 [i.e. 17] Monday. 1756-05-17 The Elephant and the Lion, when their Strength is directed and applyd by Man, can exert a...
133 Adams, John 17 [i.e. 18] Tuesday. 1756-05-18 17 i.e. 18 Tuesday.
134 Adams, John 18 [i.e. 19] Wednesday. 1756-05-19 18 i.e. 19 Wednesday.
135 Adams, John 19 [i.e. 20] Thurdsday. 1756-05-20 Spent the Evening at Gardiners.
136 Adams, John 20 [i.e. 21] Fryday. 1756-05-21 After School, rode to Shrewsbury, went to Capt. Hows, to see Dr. Flynt, spent an Hour, and then...
137 Adams, John 21 [i.e. 22] Saturday. 1756-05-22 Dined at Judge Chandlers.
138 Adams, John 22 [i.e. 23] Sunday. 1756-05-23 Heard Mr. Maccarty. He is particularly fond of the following Expressions. Carnal, ungodly...
139 Adams, John 23 [i.e. 24] Monday. 1756-05-24 A pleasant morning. Drank Tea at the Colonells.—Had the projectile Force in the Planets been...
140 Adams, John 24 [i.e. 25] Tuesday. 1756-05-25 A cool, but pleasant Day.
141 Adams, John 25 [i.e. 26] Wednesday. 1756-05-26 Election Day. I have spent all this Day at Home reading a little and eating a little Election Cake.
142 Adams, John 26 [i.e. 27] Thurdsday. 1756-05-27 Drank Tea at the Colonels with a Number of Ladies. Spent the Evening partly at Putnams and partly...
143 Adams, John 27 [i.e. 28] Fryday. 1756-05-28 Dined at the Majors. A pleasant Day.—If we examine critically the little Prospect that lies...
144 Adams, John 28 [i.e. 29] Saturday. 1756-05-29 Drank Tea at Mr. Putnams.—What is the proper Business of Mankind in this Life? We come into the...
145 Adams, John 29 [i.e. 30] Sunday. 1756-05-30 Heard Mr. Maccarty. “You who are sinners, are in continual Danger of being swallowed up quick and...
146 Adams, John 30 [i.e. 31] Monday. 1756-05-31 When we see or feel any Body, we discern nothing but Bulk and Extention. We can change this...
147 Adams, John [June 1756] 1756-06-01 Drank Tea at the Majors. The Reasoning of Mathematicians is founded on certain and infallible...
148 Adams, John June 1756. 1 Tuesday. 1756-06-01 Drank Tea at the Majors. The Reasoning of Mathematicians is founded on certain and infallible...
149 Adams, John 2 Wednesday. 1756-06-02 Went to Spencer in the afternoon.—When we come into the World, our minds are destitute of all...
150 Adams, John 3 Thurdsday. 1756-06-03 Heard Mr. Maccarty preach the Lecture, drank Tea with him, and spent the Evening at the Majors.