Thomas Jefferson Papers
You searched for: “Jefferson, Thomas; Books & Library; orders books” with filters: Author="Ticknor, George" AND Period="Madison Presidency"
sorted by: date (ascending)
Permanent link for this document:

George Ticknor to Thomas Jefferson, 18 June 1815

From George Ticknor

London June 18. 1815.

Dear Sir,

The great revolution in France, and the war growing out of it, which have changed the face of every thing in Europe, have compelled me, as you may have, perhaps, imagined, to make some change in my plans, of which it may be useful for you to be advised, as you proposed to employ me in purchasing your books in France, It is now no longer possible to go there directly or safe to take the indirect route through the Netherlands, and I have, therefore, concluded to establish myself at Gottingen, until the fall of the year, when I hope the question will be settled either one way or the other & a residence in France will become again both practicable & pleasant.

In the mean time, I have some letters from you to your friends there, which I know not well how to dispose of. They were written during Buonaparte’s recess from the throne & may, therefore, contain opinions & expressions which it would not be safe to trust to the ordinary conveyances, under existing circumstances, for the sake of the persons to whom they are addressed. By the advice of your friends, therefore, I shall keep these letters, until the times are a little more settled & I can have an opportunity to deliver them in person.

That to the Baron de Moll, Mr. Gallatin thinks it best for me to carry to Germany & put into the post office nearest his residence. If these arrangements should not meet your approbation, I pray you to address a line to me care of Samuel Williams 13 Finsbury Square London, who will forward it to me wherever I may be, and the instructions contained in which I shall exactly observe.

As soon as circumstances will warrant or permit, I shall go to Paris, This I hope and trust will be in the course of the ensuing fall, and there I hope I shall be able to serve you in collecting your Library.

Meanwhile, I pray you to present my respects to Mr. & Mrs. Randolph, and to believe me to be

very respectfully Your most obt & very humble sert

Geo: Ticknor.

RC (DLC); endorsed by TJ as received 3 Oct. 1815 and so recorded in SJL. RC (DLC); address cover only; with PoC of TJ to Caspar Wistar, 22 Oct. 1815, on verso; addressed: “Thomas Jefferson Esquire, Monticello, Albermarle County, Virginia”; franked; postmarked New York, 2 Sept.

TJ’s letter to Baron Karl von moll was dated 31 July 1814 and probably enclosed in TJ to Ticknor, 3 Mar. 1815, for which see note to TJ to Ticknor, 19 Mar. 1815.

Index Entries

  • Gallatin, Albert; as minister plenipotentiary to France search
  • Jefferson, Thomas; Books & Library; orders books search
  • Library of Congress; TJ replaces books sold to search
  • Moll, Karl Marie Ehrenbert von, baron; G. Ticknor conveys letter to search
  • Napoleon I, emperor of France; abdicates search
  • Randolph, Martha Jefferson (Patsy; TJ’s daughter; Thomas Mann Randolph’s wife); greetings sent to search
  • Randolph, Thomas Mann (1768–1828) (TJ’s son-in-law; Martha Jefferson Randolph’s husband); greetings sent to search
  • Ticknor, George; and books for TJ search
  • Ticknor, George; carries TJ’s letters to Europe search
  • Ticknor, George; forwarding address of in London search
  • Ticknor, George; letters from search
  • Ticknor, George; travels of search
  • Williams, Samuel (of London); forwards correspondence search